For the past several weeks, we have been conducting a ground-breaking research study exploring new ways of supporting those working across policing.

We are now entering the final phase of this research and we need your help.

So far, we have trialed an app which helps you track and understand how you are feeling, and more importantly, what you can do to help improve those feelings.

(You can read more about that here – Understanding emotions in the police service • Oscar Kilo)

Over 160 Police officers, staff and volunteers have taken part from 40 different forces, and, we have conducted research interviews with senior leaders and wellbeing leads from across the country.

Following on from the initial phases of this research, we are now entering the final phase of the study which is all about understanding the decision-making strategies of officers and staff to better understand what supports their wellbeing and performance.

We are now seeking 100 participants to undertake a short interview via telephone or videocall with a member of the research team.

All answers provided will be completely anonymous to those who participate – the only information we wish to record alongside your answers will be approximate age, county and gender.

Interviews will last approximately 15 minutes.

Why should I take part? 

By getting involved you are playing a really important part in helping us, the National Police Wellbeing Service, to develop and provide the most advanced and effective wellbeing support based upon a profound understanding of how we all make decisions.

Who holds the information and what do they do with it?

The information gathered will be used to paint a comprehensive picture of overall wellbeing, decision making and performance across the service. The goal to improve the way our people are supported in the future.

The end result will be a formal report and a summary of possibilities and recommendations to help officers and staff across the service improve what we do in the future.

How do I get involved?

If you would like to take part, please outline your preferred date from the list below with a time you would be available and send to jack@instinctlaboratory.com who will then be in touch.

W/C 17th May

  • Tuesday 18th May
  • Wednesday 19th  May
  • Friday 21st May

W/C 24th May

  • Monday 24th May
  • Tuesday 25th May
  • Friday 28th May

W/C 31st May

  • Tuesday 1st June
  • Wednesday 2nd June
  • Thursday 3rd June
  • Friday 4th June
  • Saturday 5th June
  • Sunday 6th June

W/C 7th June (NEW DATES ADDED!!)

  • Monday 7th Jun
  • Tuesday 8th June
  • Wednesday 9th June
  • Friday 11th June